Less Than Two Weeks

I have to agree with Jason Giambi.  Let’s get on with it already.  I’m looking forward to the start of the regular eason.  Enough with this Spring Training ****.

To help relax me while the waiting game continues, I picked up Major League Baseball 2K7.  It’s not too bad.  I had The Show last season and I liked it more.  2K7 has a strange swinging action where you take a step and then swing.  It took a bit to get used.  Overall, I’d say the game is alright.  The only thing that really annoys me about it so far is that the announcer places a tilda or whatever it’s called over Cano’s name.  He calls him "Kahn-yo."  It’s a little irritating.  But maybe it’ll grow on me and I, too, can call him Kahn-Yo.

Moose is coming around, and that’s good news.  With Wang looking tough, Pettitte yet to give up a run, and now Mussina returning to form things are looking pretty good for the rotation.  Igawa and Pavano remain question marks, but that’s at least one less question mark in my mind than when camp opened.  Who knows, with 12 games to go maybe even Igawa and Porcelain will pick it up a bit.

At this point, I’m feeling pretty optimistic about the team this year.  It seems that every time I do some checking I find more good news.  Today it was that Bobby Abreu’s BP session went well and he’ll be DHing on Tuesday.  I was a bit worried early on that a lot of injuries were going to pop up.  But they didn’t.  It looks like the Yankees will go into April 2 at full strength.  Can’t complain about that, especially after spending more than half of last year with guys on the DL.  Starting off on the right foot is what it’s all about.

A couple of other guys I want to mention: How about Josh Phelps?  This kid’s got a good chance of beating Andy Phillips out.  He’s batting .435 this Spring.  By the way, I think the offering back to Baltimore for $25,000 thing…what a crock.  If I were sold back for that amount, I’d be offended. But, then again, if I’m sold back it’s probably because I’m not very good.

And, finally, Mariano Rivera.  I think this might be the first time I’ve mentioned his name all Spring.  6 pitches to retire the Pirates. 6.  He had to have a side bullpen session just to get his work in.  The man is a machine.  I hope he plays forever.

One comment

  1. joseph

    I like MLB 2K7 a lot, The graphics are amazing on 360 and you can change the batting to the classic view, its much easier. I wrote a short blog about my team on my blog page.

Leave a comment