A Letter

Dearest New York Yankees,

Why hast thou forsaken me?  I remained loyal through the lean years.  I was there for 67-95.  And 71-91.  Yet I was always proud to say that I was a Yankee fan.  We’ve been through so much together.  The agony of the strike year when you (and the Expos of all teams) were well on your way to the World Series.  The excitement and devastation of that first division series.  You were there for some of the happiest moments I can remember: Jim Leyritz. Tino. Aaron Boone.

But recently you’ve been letting me down.  I do everything I can to help you.  I even bought Reggie’s Ballpark Style Peanuts. (They’re too salty, by the way.  Pass that on to Reggie.)  So far you’ve given me nothing in return.  Sure, there were A-Rod’s walkoffs….but two exciting wins can only carry a man so far.  Where is the team I have come to love?  Where is the consistently solid pitching?  Where is the timely hitting?

I’ve done some thinking and I think I might know why those things are missing.  You’ve forgotten how baseball is played.  At 104 years old, a little memory loss is to be expected.  So I’ve decided to remind you.  Baseball is played by hitting the ball to areas of the field not occupied by opposing players.  When you are in the field, the goal is to keep the other team from hitting the ball into areas where you are not.  Additionally, and you’ve had a very difficult time grasping this concept, you do not win by simply getting the most people onto the bases.  You also need them to circle the bases and touch home plate.

I can understand that these concepts are a bit advanced.  And I can also understand why operating under such misunderstandings may be leading to confusion over why you have lost a good number more than you’ve won.  That is why I have tried to resolve the issue.  Hopefully further misunderstandings can be avoided.

Please demonstrate that you have not only received but also understand my letter by winning a game or two.  Thanks.

Love Always,
Jacob

P.S. Tell the Devil Rays I say hello.

5 comments

  1. Derek

    A tough loss last night but at least I was happy. If and when they get healthy the Yankees may be able to go on a run. They definitely have the offense but their pitching is in shambles. The Jays have suffered the same sort of fate but their rotation is beginning to solidify. Clemens may do the same with the Yanks. Clemens, Pettitte and Wang are a great top three. If you can get some consistency out of #4 and #5 and have the bullpen improve the team can win a bunch of ballgames.

  2. Jason

    Jacob, a very good and spot-on post. It’s surely been a terrible start to the 2007 season, and I’m about the last one to sugar-coat it. But thank goodness there is a lot of baseball left to be played. All I can say is that the offense will get better, and the team will put together good pitching with some good hitting. The problem is how far back they’ll be when the right the ship. There’s no shame in the difficulty that comes with watching these games. They’ve been brutal, no question.

    Keep smiling. We’re here for you, man.

    http://heartlandpinstripes.mlblogs.com/

  3. Jacob

    When Lola has no optimistic words to share, things are bad. Good to see you’re still here, Lo.

    Derek is right — the Yankees have the offense. But I would say that the pitching isn’t really in shambles (bullpen excepted, I guess). If Moose can remain consistent, they’ve got a great top 3 right now. Clemens on Monday, Hughes by the end of June makes a tough rotation. But the offense is simply nonexistent.

    Jason — Hope you’re right about a turnaround. I can handle not making the playoffs (I guess), but a sub-.500 season is absolutely sickening.

    Jacob

  4. matthew.e.white@hotmail.com

    Well, this is starting to get out of hand and all, but I was thinking that since you actually are not my teacher anymore, we should go downtown and watch one of the games in this next series at the bar or something…

Leave a comment